Monday, September 26, 2022
HomeIndiaRecord for Rohit Sharma in shortened Australia T20I

Record for Rohit Sharma in shortened Australia T20I

- Advertisement -spot_img

Rohit Sharma went past Martin Guptill to top the chart of batters with most sixes in T20Is during his knock against Australia in Nagpur in the eight-over match.

Rohit Sharma, the leading run-scorer in T20Is, went past Martin Guptill’s tally of sixes to go to the top of the six hitters’ chart in T20Is. The India captain, who smashed two sixes in the first over from Josh Hazlewood in a run chase of 91 in eight overs, now has 174 sixes to his name in this format.

Guptill with 172 sixes and Chris Gayle with 124 sixes follow him. Virat Kohli is the only other Indian batter with more than 100 T20I sixes, currently sitting on 104 sixes in the format.

Rohit, who has played 138 matches, had gone past Guptill’s run tally in the format last month, later going on to become the only men’s player with more than 3500 T20I runs.

Suzie Bates is the only other batter with more than 3500 runs in the format at the international level. Deandra Dottin and Sophie Devine are the only women cricketers with more than 100 recorded T20I sixes.

Rohit’s knock at the top helped India get off to a great start against Australia in Nagpur in a shortened match. Australia made 90/5 batting first in the eight-over game, but Rohit and KL Rahul put on a 39-run opening stand in 2.5 overs to get India off to a great start.

Scorecard Australia

Australia Batting

Aaron Finch CPT b Jasprit Bumrah311541206.66
Cameron Green run out (Virat Kohli/Axar Patel)5410125.00
Glenn Maxwell b Axar Patel01000.00
Tim David b Axar Patel230066.66
Matthew Wade WKT NOT OUT432043215.00
Steve Smith run out (Harshal Patel)8510160.00
Sean Abbott
Pat Cummins
Daniel Sams
Adam Zampa
Josh Hazlewood
Extras (w 1)1
Total (5 wickets, 8 overs)90

Scorecard India

India Bowling

Hardik Pandya1010010.002
Axar Patel201326.508
Yuzvendra Chahal1012012.000
Jasprit Bumrah2023111.501
Harshal Patel2032016.002

India Batting

Rohit Sharma CPT NOT OUT462044230.00
KL Rahul b Adam Zampa10601166.66
Virat Kohli b Adam Zampa11620183.33
Suryakumar Yadav lbw Adam Zampa01000.00
Hardik Pandya c Aaron Finch b Pat Cummins9910100.00
Dinesh Karthik NOT OUT10211500.00
Rishabh Pant WKT
Yuzvendra Chahal
Jasprit Bumrah
Harshal Patel
Axar Patel
Fall of wickets
1-39 (KL Rahul, 2.5 ov), 2-55 (V Kohli, 4.2 ov), 3-55 (SA Yadav, 4.3 ov), 4-77 (HH Pandya, 6.5 ov)

Australia Bowling

Josh Hazlewood1020020.001
Pat Cummins2023111.505
Adam Zampa201638.004
Daniel Sams1.2020015.002
Sean Abbott1011011.002
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img